Thursday, October 11, 2007


By Marciano A. Paroy, Jr.

After more than a year of dearth in the alumni leadership of the Kalinga-Apayao State College, graduates of this institution from all three levels – high school, college, and graduate school – convened in a succession of separate elections to choose their officers that would look after the interest of alumni for the next three years. This culminated in an election of one federated set of officers culled from the three associations – KASC Alumni Association-Dagupan Campus, KASC Alumni Association-Bulanao Campus, and BIBAK-NAS/Lab High Alumni Association. Clinching the presidential seat is Grace Kidang of the Dagupan group, defeating Valentin Palattao and Aquino Perez, of Bulanao Campus and BIBAK-NAS/Lab High, respectively.

As President of the Alumni Federation, Ms. Kidang will be recognized by the Board of Trustees of KASC as the alumni representative – a position which puts her in company with thinkers who hammer out plans for the state college.

Ms. Kidang, Provincial Tourism Officer of the province, formally had her oath of office administered with Hon. Judge Marcelino Wacas of the Branch 25 of the Regional Trial Court swearing her in.

Outlining the Alumni Trustee’s role in the Board, College President Eduardo Bagtang pointed out that Ms. Kidang is now part of the “premier policy-making body of the state college, and as such, she will be expected to discuss with other trustees her insights on development concerns affecting not only the alumni, but the whole KASC as well.”

“KASC has produced thousands of graduates, many of whom have found gainful employment both in the public and private sector, and overseas as well,” the new alumni trustee said. “With this fact, there is a need to keep an actively working federation that would not only trace these graduates, but also obtain their commitment in lending a hand to the school where they came from.”

Ms. Kidang, who takes over the seat vacated by former alumni trustee Noblito Barcellano, is ably supported by Vice President Francis Buen, Secretary Marilou Adora, Treasurer Arlene Oyando, Auditor Christopher Vargas, PRO Marciano Paroy Jr., Bus. Mgrs. Marjuline Lawagan and Jonathan Bangngayon, Sentinels Carol Pecua and Giarhard Awis.

No comments:

Post a Comment


THE FUTURE OF MIDWIFERY AT KSU When Madam Andrea Sigat and Madam Nellie Doclan joined the world of retirees last June and July 2017 respecti...